Interactive Bar

Google Search
Google Translate
Log in

Rood End Primary School

Get in touch

Contact Details

English-Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

This term, children will read Rick Riodan's Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.


Percy Jackson thinks he is an ordinary 12-year old boy. When he learns the identity of his real father, his world changes forever and every Greek myth comes alive to drag him into their reality.

Percy Jackson and Lightning Thief is the first in a series of fantasy novels which begins Percy's foray into the world of the Gods. It was adapted into a 2010 hit movie entitled: Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.

The next books in the series in reading order are: The Sea of Monsters, The Titan's Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian.


About the Author

Rick Riordan is a bestselling author of over twenty novels for young readers, including the Percy Jackson series, the Kane Chronicles, the Magnus Chase series and the Trials of Apollo.


For fifteen years, Rick taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas. While teaching in San Antonio, Saint Mary’s Hall honored him with the school’s first Master Teacher Award.

Riordan turned to children’s fiction when he started The Lightning Thief as a bedtime story for his oldest son. The novel draws on Riordan’s experience teaching Greek mythology and his
interaction with students who have learning differences. It is his first work for young readers.